Home Forums Composer Interviews Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name??

TG – Anonymous

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

I’ve been a composer for various film, TV, commercial, and other media shows for more than a decade now. Most of my TV and commercial placements have been through the library music industry, while the films I tend to get directly, through connections with directors, producers, and editors.

3.) How long have you been writing music?

My entire life! I grew up as a keyboard player and morphed into the MIDI world and then into the digital audio workstation world.

4.) How did you get started?

My family was musical and there were musical instruments around the house so I picked up a lot by ear and playing with friends, then I went on to study music at university.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

For about the last 6-8 years.

6.) Are you making a living wage?

In music, yes. In library/production music alone, no.

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of earnings (low/mid/high 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 figures)?

5-figures.

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

Both. Growing up and learning to play by ear and through local lessons was a great starter. Later, studying it formally really helped me progress to the next level.

9.) Do you work through music libraries?

Yes.

9a.) If so are they exclusive and/or non-exclusive libraries?

Both. It’s a tricky thing, because there are huge pros and cons to each. The non-exclusive libraries tend to be bargain basement, Wal-Mart type entities where they have a ton of everything, but the quality varies a lot, and budgets are lower. Then the exclusive libraries are more boutique, have higher budgets, but less opportunities. And of course you tie up your cues and put all your faith into that company. It’s a tricky thing.