Dare to question?

Home Forums Contracts Dare to question?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    SteveW
    Participant

I was wondering what experiences people have of questioning agreements?

I’ve never licensed anything exclusively before but recently had a bit of interest in some tracks I did with a singer a few years ago – which have basically just been gathering dust for years!

Anyway, getting to the point. I’ve been offered a couple of exclusive agreements for these tracks over the past couple of months. Each time I’ve politely questioned a couple of things, like lack of reversion clause, and each time it’s been the end of the conversation. I’d understand if I was trying to play hardball and making demands, but my tone was far from that.

Is this a familiar story?

Great site, Art. Been very informative and often entertaining for me over the past few months of lurking 🙂

#16426 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

Hi Steve,

Welcome.

I am an attorney. I’ve negotiated settlements in hundreds of cases. It is not a good sign when one party refuses to negotiate.

It could be that they believe you need them, more than they need you, and that they simply don’t want to be bothered. That’s a problem musicians face in a saturated market.

On the other hand, I’m always suspicious when conversations are more or less one sided and end, as yours did. There is, however, not point in speculating what their reason is.

Were you offered money upfront? In that case there would usually be no reversion. Is the “library” one of the more well know licensing agents?

Best,

Michael

#16428 Reply
    SteveW
    Participant

Thanks for replying, Michael. Both these agreements came from well established publishers/labels who are very active in music placement. There was no upfront money offered.