Home Forums Composer Interviews Gayle Ellett Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name?

GE: Gayle Ellett

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

GE: I’ve played on a ton of albums, some of which have been chosen as “Top 10 Album Of The Year” in five different genres (jazz, world, electronic, new age, progressive), I’ve had my music used in 35 different TV series, etc, and my wife still loves me. You can read more at http://www.GayleEllett.com

3.) How long have you been writing music?

GE: I started playing music when I was about 5, but I didn’t start seriously writing music until I was about 15 years old.

4.) How did you get started?

GE: The Beatles. Hearing their Sergeant Peppers album, when I was about 8, really freaked me out and made me want to be a musician. Not to be as famous as them, or sound like them, but to be as visionary and creative as they were. I would sit in front of my dad’s reel-to-reel stereo and listen to their music with more amazement then I got when I watched TV! That album really created a “mini-movie in my mind”. And that is the style/feeling that I have always cultivated since.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

GE: For about 20 years now. I got started in the biz, when my friend’s brother became a TV producer for some sports shows on ESPN, and they needed music. So he asked his brother and me if we could make what they needed. And for many years that was a great gig for me. And it helped push me into styles that I would not have normally composed or played.

6.) Are you making a living wage?

GE: Not really.

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of earnings (low/mid/high 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 figures)?

GE: “Not enough”.

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?