Is "performance free" really that bad if tiered pricing??

Home Forums PROs Is "performance free" really that bad if tiered pricing??

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    mojorising
    Participant

First of all I still make most of my licensing income from PRO driven models with both gratis deals and ones that have sync fees so I’m a pro PRO person lol. But I came across a library who is performance free, so no potential for any back end income. I know on most RF sites if the song is broadcast you will get performance royalties but does that even out when you are selling songs for only 20-40 bucks on those sites? Vs a performance free site that charges around 80 bucks for anything personal and non broadcast (so there wouldn’t be performance royalties anyway) and then for TV, commercial, film anything else the prices are much higher. More like “sync fee” prices. $150 to $2,000. I know most people say performance free is the final drop to the race to the bottom, but if a library actually charges nice up front prices based on use-age how bad is it?? Especially when there seems to be a market for people who don’t want to have to deal with PROs.

#25461 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

In an ever changing world is anything ever off the table?

Interesting idea if the fees are high enough. Then again do those fees race to the bottom?

#25462 Reply
    music123

Performance free is very dangerous for U.S. spots at a national level. I earned a huge 5 figure pay check because of a track in a national campaign that ran 10,000 times. It’s also not good for shows that rerun a lot and get exported to overseas TV markets. We need our performance royalties!

#25463 Reply
    music123

The pay check was back end performance royalties from my PRO and exceeded the licensing fee by 3 x.

#25465 Reply
    guscave

The main problem with performance free is that it’s a one time payment that really doesn’t add up to what a track can make in a lifetime.