Keeping tabs on music placements (BMI)

Home Forums Newbie Questions Keeping tabs on music placements (BMI)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Mike Marino
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m new to the music library industry so I’m looking for some answers. My PRO is BMI. One of the libraries I submit work to recently told me that they received a cue sheet from CBS, and listed was a track of mine (a couple minutes worth of music).

From the research I’ve done on MLR, is my assumption correct that BMI doesn’t issue any of this information for its members to see (outside of quarterly royalty statements)?

If the above is correct, does that mean that I’ll never really know how any of my music’s doing until I receive (or don’t receive) quarterly royalty statements? I’d just be sort of siting in the dark hoping that something happens because there’s no way to check in the meantime?

This would be my first TV placement and I know I wouldn’t see any royalties on this particular placement until the end of this year/beginning of next. As for the rest of the process, I’m pretty unsure how it all would work. I’m just looking for a means to be able to check whether my music’s getting placed or not….because not all libraries seem to deal much with alerting their composers about placements (unless it’s something sizeable).

I hope I’m making sense of this. Thanks for any information you can provide.

#20249 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

BMI doesn’t issue any of this information for its members to see (outside of quarterly royalty statements)?

Correct.

I’m just looking for a means to be able to check whether my music’s getting placed or not….

https://tunesat.com/tunesatportal/home/pricing. You can get a free account for 50 songs.

#20250 Reply
    Mike Marino
    Participant