Lots of questions …

Home Forums Newbie Questions Lots of questions …

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    minkus
    Participant

Hello all! I’m a kind of veteran composer who has only just started the process of submitting to libraries. So I’ve composed for years because I love doing it but only recently figured out I could be making money from it.

This happened because a few years ago a submitted one track to a UK company as an experiment … and it got used on a UK TV show (I’m based in London). I only got £50, even though I thought it was a prime-time show (on at 6.30 in the evening on a terrestrial channel). I didn’t get any PRS/ PPL payments because I wasn’t then a member of either. I have since joined.

Since then I’ve composed around 100 tracks and I’ve now picked out some of those and put together a portfolio. Happy to post for review.

Anyway … I’ve no idea what I’m doing really so first question:

Should I send this portfolio out to all exclusive libraries at once (scattergun-approach) and wait for the best offer, or should I send out to, say five, wait a week and then send to another five … etc.? (discerning-approach)

How long should I leave my tracks with libraries before moving onto another?

I have received an offer from a London based exclusive library – I’m being cautious and last week sent my portfolio to the first five. They want to keep the music for two years (if a track has not sold more than three times in two years I can have the track back apparently). They also want a 50% share of royalties. is it fair that they get that much of the writer’s credit?

I’m especially interested in people’s views on the issue of the strategy they use for sending off tracks – as in exclusive first then non-exclusive.

Thanks – though I’m sure I’ll have more questions.

#18752 Reply
    Paolo
    Participant

Hi Minkus,

Welcome to the forum. You’ve got plenty of company – we all had similar questions when we started.