Home Forums Composer Interviews Stuart Duffield – Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name?

Stuart Duffield

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

I’ve written music for a few video games, and have now started to get my music used on TV and Radio. A notable recent credit is that one of my tracks was used by Disney.

3.) How long have you been writing music?

I’ve been writing professionally for around 17 years.

4.) How did you get started?

I started out by writing on the guitar and recording to a 4-track tape recorder. I then began messing around with computer-based sequencers and samplers. When I got my first version of Cubase I was hooked.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

I’ve been writing full-time for libraries now since 2008.

6.) Are you making a living wage writing library/production music?

I’m making enough now to pay a few of the monthly bills. It’s not paying all the bills yet, but I’m still working on it!

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of earnings (low/mid/high 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 figures)?

Annual earnings are 4 figures.

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

It’s a bit of both. I learned guitar when I was young, and learned everything I could from friends and also taught myself other things. Later I studied music composition and theory, and also taught myself by analyzing and mimicking musical techniques and styles.

9.) Do you work through music libraries?

Yes.

9a.) If so are they exclusive and/or non-exclusive libraries?

They’re all non-exclusive right now.

10.) Do you contact music supervisors, music editors or TV production companies directly?

No

10a.) If so how do you approach them?

N/A

11.) How do you deal with rejection?

I try and take it on the chin and learn from it. I’m always trying to improve what I do, and if any criticism of a track specifies any particular area I will try and do it better next time.