Submitting music to a library and getting rejected. How soon to try again?

Home Forums Newbie Questions Submitting music to a library and getting rejected. How soon to try again?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    naudio
    Participant

I’ve been only on royalty free sites this far, but I’m planning to send some of my better tracks to some “higher level” libraries.

This question might sound silly, but I am fairly new to this music library business. So basically I was wondering: if you send a music to library
    and they reject you/ your music, how long should you wait before sending
    more of your music? If they reject you, it’s not like a life-time rejection and you can try again later? (unless you are really, really bad… :D)

#22079 Reply
    Steve Ballard

Not a silly question at all. Most everyone has been rejected when submitting. The exclusive libraries receive hundreds of submissions a day and have a policy of 4 to 6 weeks for review of your music. They will contact you if they are interested in it, if not you will normally not be contacted at all. Therefore the “rejection”.

The rejection is not necessarily one of “your music is bad”, it may be a case that it is not what they are looking for to include in their library. I personally have been told by only 2 of the big (what I call the elite) exclusive libraries that “It’s good, but not what we are looking for.” The others I never heard a word back.

So, no it is not a life time ban of any sort on you or your music and you can and should try again after those periods.

#22080 Reply
    Desire_Inspires
    Participant

Once a month seems reasonable.

#22083 Reply
    ChuckMott
    Participant