An Observation after 5 years…

Home Forums Commentary An Observation after 5 years…

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    ChuckMott
    Participant

I am a guitarist. I have been playing guitar since I was 15, 1977 to be exact,before the internet took over the world and writing music for tv and film were for guys willing to take their chances moving to New York or LA (or at least that was the perception back then). For all the money I spent on buying sound libraries since I started recording muisc aimed at licensing about 7 years ago, I invested in sound libraries, and withte exception of one track where the synthesizer featured prominently, have not written anything that made a blip on the licensing scene featuring anything but my guitar work. My piano and sample libraries, I don’t thik have even earned their money back, and maybe Omnisphere may have paid itself off by now. I find writing my guitar stuff a lot more enjoyable process, and if I am doing the licensing thing at all, find I write them quicker and that they overall sound more professional then my feeble attempts at other stuff. SOme of the best stuff I have done otherwise has been with Kubed, where I was a contributing guitarist, and let him work that electronic wizardry he does best. Otherwise my sound libraries make the occasional money in the RF world. It also looks like the only way I an going to write full length originals, always a dream of mine, is to have te time to do it, and working with sample based stuff for me, is way more labor intensive. DIfferent then saying I have no interest in plying keys at all, as that was something I kind gf enjoyed learning. SO , I am really thinking of working on my strengths, which is primarily guitar based music, and working on developing my own singing voice,writing original “artist” music and also doing library music. Another reason for that is I have to pout in a reasonable amount of practice time, as a gigging musician, to keep my cho