changing identity…

Home Forums Newbie Questions changing identity…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Paul

I am new to this whole library thing, going on my second year. For some reason I quickly hooked up with ASCAP early on. At the time I thought I would use my real name. But as time goes by I wish I had used something else instead. Does anyone know if it’s possible to do this, or has anyone else tried to do this before? Thanks!

#5804 Reply
    MichaelL

Paul:
    I am new to this whole library thing, going on my second year.For some reason I quickly hooked up with ASCAP early on.At the time I thought I would use my real name.But as time goes by I wish I had used something else instead.Does anyone know if it’s possible to do this, or has anyone else tried to do this before?Thanks!

ASCAP allows you to use three, maybe more, pseudonyms. I have three.
    BMI also allows you to use multiple pseudonyms.

#5806 Reply
    Paul

Thanks for your reply MichaelL. The only information I found at the ASCAP site was their \”Online Title Registration Guide\” on page 1, step 3:

3. Entitled Parties – Writers and Publishers of the work. If unknown, indicate the party is unknown on the registration.
    a. The name spelling should be consistent with ASCAP’s records (This includes patronyms and registered pseudonyms).

===It mentions pseudonyms but not how to register them. I guess I\’ll need to call them tomorrow.

#5812 Reply
    Paul

I just talked to ASCAP, so here’s how to add a pseudonym.

1. Login to your account
    2. Go to Member Service Inquiry above the logout button
    3. Select My Membership under category
    4. Select Pseudonym – Add (MA) under topic.
    5. Type in the pseudonyms you want to associate with your account (up to 3).
    6. Press Continue.

Then ASCAP will assign an IPI# (CAE#) for each new name.

#5813 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

You’re good to go.