Choosing Between A Few Great Tracks and A Lot Of Decent Tracks

Home Forums General Questions Choosing Between A Few Great Tracks and A Lot Of Decent Tracks

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    NathanW

I’m not new to recording music, but besides submitting a couple tracks 2 years ago, I’m basically new to the music library industry (though I’ve read a lot about it).

Something I’m pondering right now is, I could spend a bunch of time recording say, 5 of my best tracks at the time, and be a perfectionist about the sound, or record maybe 8 or 10 decent songs with ok production quality.

I know if I were an artist, the answer would be to go for quality over quantity. However, when you consider how many more markets you can appeal to by going for quantity, coupled with the fact that alot of this is only going to be heard in the background, and that music supervisors probably keep this in mind, I’m not so sure.

But, I can also see how going for sheer quantity might be a lot more work when you consider creating edits, tagging, uploading, 16/24 bit versions and everything else.

What are your thoughts on this? Right now, I think I may be leaning towards making much fewer works just because of the work involved with each file after recording is finished. Also, better songs could tend to sell a lot more.

#7599 Reply
    Mark Petrie

Quality definitely allows you to charge more per track, and potentially make more sales per track.

That said, one of the ways you can get discovered is to have lot of good tracks. It increases the odds of someone stumbling upon your music, and then looking through all the music you’ve given to that library.