Client requesting price quote for commercial use of one of my track

Home Forums Newbie Questions Client requesting price quote for commercial use of one of my track

• This topic has 5 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by Dragoon.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    mmuser
    Participant

Sorry for the long post..I received this e-mail and i would like to ask for some help about how we deal with this?

Greetings!
    I’m an indie game developer and am in the process of creating my first game. I’m very far into the project and am in need of a song to use for my game’s menu screen.
    I was on Pond5.com and found this particular song that you had created:
    “LINK”
    It’s a beautiful song. Very nice work.
    I’m not an attorney, so I’m having a hard time understanding Pong5’s commercial policy. Since you’re the owner of this song, what would you charge to give me rights to use this song in a game that I’m making? When this game is completed, I will be selling the game via digital download at Steam.com. Your song would be the game’s menu theme.
    Thank you! I’m really looking forward to your response!

Some information that might help:
    1. This is a well produced world/ethnic track produced in a top notch studio. (only real instruments)
    2. The price in Pond5 is 69$ and sells relatively well
    3. Googling client’s name found only 284 results

? have received similar email again, so I always wondered: Provided we agree on the price what should i send to him, certifying that he legally purchased the track from me?
    Are there any templates of something like “Proof of Purchase”?

Thank you for your time!

#34463 Reply
    Music1234
    Participant