Home Forums Composer Interviews Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name?

Anonymous by request

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

Background instrumentals on various tv shows and channels, usually :20 to 1:00 long clips.

3.) How long have you been writing music?

16 years.

4.) How did you get started?

I bought a mini guitar when I was in Mexico City, and then went from there. I started writing with the acoustic guitar at a young age (about 13).

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

About 5 years.

6.) Are you making a living wage?

Not with the music alone; not yet.

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of earnings (low/mid/high 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 figures)?

Low (on average, I get a BMI royalty check of $500 every 3 months).

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

I am self-taught for the most part.

9.) Do you work through music libraries?

Yes.

9a.) If so are they exclusive and/or non-exclusive libraries?

Non-exclusive.

10.) Do you contact music supervisors, music editors or TV production companies directly?

I’ve tried, quite a few times. I’ve sent out emails to a number of them. Sometimes it works; most of the time it doesn’t.

10.a) If so how do you approach them?

Email.

11.) How do you deal with rejection?

Write more music and keep submitting.

12.) How do you feel about re-titling?

I don’t mind that aspect. The only part I am not too fond of is the usual 50/50 cut that the music libraries take. I understand they have the contacts in the industry, but I don’t think that’s worth half (I think it should be standard at around 70/30; 70% for the artist, 30% for the library)

13.) What do you have the most success with, royalty free sites or back end PRO royalties?