Copyright infringement

Home Forums General Questions Copyright infringement

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    bbastos
    Participant

Hello

I uploaded an instrumental song into a music library (which was approved), and I need some information about copyright.

The song was created and inspired by a famous song. The harmonic structure, chords progression, and melodies of my song are different from this famous song. I wonder if there is the possibility of my song be denounced as copyright infringement, based solely on the rhythm and the instruments used.

Thanks!

#11408 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

It most likely would only be an issue if it was huge moneymaker and someone thought they had a case. But, I am not a lawyer. MichaelL might have some more to say on the subject.

#11410 Reply
    music_pro
    Participant

You can only copyright melody, that’s all.

#11411 Reply
    DavidSharp
    Participant

Re only copyright melody – that’s not true in the UK.

This implies, which I know that many people think, that if you change the melody a bit but keep the same chords, arrangement, structure and rhythm then it’s OK

As a creator of an original piece you are not allowed to plaguralise the creative endevours of another – that’s the law in the UK – the creative endevour can be the chords, arrangement, a key hooky riff etc

It’s not about only copying 3 notes or whatever rules of thumb people have decided.

I’ve worked closely with Musicologists to understand all this and I know many people sail very close to the wind often because they don’t know wha the copyright law actually says on this

Regards
    David

#11412 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

This question cannot be answered adequately here. Just a few quick thoughts: