Copyrighting a collection as Published-good or bad?

Home Forums Copyright Questions Copyrighting a collection as Published-good or bad?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    mfaith2
    Participant

Hi,
    I am a newbie and have checked all the newbie sections but can’t find answers to a few questions… I am getting ready to submit some songs, cues and instrumental tracks to music libraries so I recently copyrighted them. When it came to the question, I selected the collection as published but don’t know if that was a good or bad decision or what the ramifications are. I did get the Registration.
    –Will music libraries be less likely to be interested if the material is published?
    –Will I have other responsibilities for collecting revenue if I am the publisher, even if a music library has placed the track?
    — Also, I have not signed up with a PRO yet, still trying to decide between ASCAP & BMI, and am wondering if I should sign up as the publisher as well as the composer?
    –What does it actually mean to be the Publisher these days?
    My main interest is in having the tracks placed but I may post some with videos on you tube or submit some to Spotify or Alternative Radio. I am the composer and only artist on all the music. Any insight would be really helpful, Thanks

#27147 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

When you register a copyright as a collection the entire collection is given one registration number as if it were a single work with multiple parts. That’s OK if you are retaining ownership of the music. For example, if you are putting the music into non-exclsuive royalty free libraries and you are the publisher.