Developing a piece of music vs developing a loop

Home Forums General Questions Developing a piece of music vs developing a loop

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    PAMMusic
    Participant

Recently a music library I am with sent a blanket email feeding back to composers to “remember to develop a piece of music, don’t just build on a loop!”.

I was wondering if anyone wanted to share any strategies on how they develop a piece of background library music, as I would say I am often guilty of “building on a loop”, especially with styles such as science & tech, backstory & cinematic. Perhaps it is as I am a guitarist at heart and work best in ‘riffs’ & verse/chorus structures that developing a cinematic, electronic or backstory track is a little more alien to me.

Also – what is the difference between building on a loop and developing a piece of music – and is one necessarily better than the other?

Sorry for the fairly obscure topic, but it’s always interesting to hear how other composers build/develop a library track, especially when very common advice is to “not to take too many right turns” or change mood in a library track.

#39326 Reply
    Michael Nickolas
    Participant

If a library asked me to “develop a piece of music, don’t just build on a loop!” I would definitely listen to a few examples that they feel meets this criteria, in the style you will be providing. No better way to learn what it is they mean.

#39330 Reply
    PAMMusic
    Participant

I think I roughly know what they mean, but was more interested in how other composers here might interpret it, and how they develop their pieces, as I imagine most library composers start out as a ‘solo’ operation, so it is would be really easy to get stuck in your own ways in terms of how you build a piece of music.

#39331 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster