Do you have a Music Lawyer?

Home Forums Newbie Questions Do you have a Music Lawyer?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Cari
    Participant

I’m still new at this, so I have to ask: Do you have a Music Lawyer? If yes, how did you go about getting one? How about a manager? My husband seems to think I’m spinning my wheels going through music libraries, although I am optimistic (most days). I’ve just started a great book called “All you need to know about the Music Business” by Donald S. Passman – someone here recommended this book and I love it! I just wanted to check it against reality! Also, since I do best at writing from my heart, I primarily focus on one type of music and no plans to perform live. So, does this put me in a position of not needing managers and agencies? I appreciate your feedback!

#5954 Reply
    Ulla
    Participant

Hi Cari, I’d say the fewer middlemen/middlewomen (?) the better! What service could an agent/manager provide to you? What is it that you think you need help with? Is it getting you in touch with libraries, is it going through all the legalese or filling out meta data? 😉

#5959 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

Hi Cari,

As you probably know, I am a lawyer and a composer (not in that order). Without getting into a complicated explanation about the differences between, lawyers, agents and managers, I would ask the same questions as Ulla.  If you came to me, my first question would be, “what do you want to accomplish?” The answer to this question would let me know if you have realistic expectations about the business. A lot of the anger and frustration that composers vent here comes from not having realistic expectations in the first place.

>My husband seems to think I’m spinning my wheels going through music libraries, although I am optimistic (most days)<