Exclusive vs. Non-Exclusive Strategy?

Home Forums General Questions Exclusive vs. Non-Exclusive Strategy?

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 288 total)
  • Author
    erock
    Participant

I’m a relative newbie in the library game.  After reading some threads here in which posters volley back and forth over the future of libraries, I’m wondering how I should position myself for the future.

I have about 40 tracks now (not counting versions) in non-exclusive arrangements.  I have a few other tracks I’ve held aside with the intention of placing them with a publisher… maybe 4 or 5.

Is this a good approach?  My NE library is tied up for up to 5 years, if Tunesat or anything else make it such that NE libraries languish I’m screwed.  All that music will wither.

Should I bag NE and just write fewer tracks but hopefully place them Exclusively?

What’s a composer to do?

Thanks,

Eric

#8885 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Hi Eric,

This has been discussed at great lengths here and everyone has an opinion. Personally I’m not worried about my non-exclusive tunes “withering” away. Most of mine are signed non-exclusively.

BTW this is my opinion only and not meant as advice. You should do your own research and consult an attorney for guidance.

#8886 Reply
    gdomeier
    Participant

Eric, we appear to be a similar stages in this business.  I have most of my cues as non exclusive.  I also have an exclusive deal with another publisher that I submit cues to.  Those are mostly custom type requests.

So far, the non exclusives are working well for me.  The custom/exclusives are starting as well.  No reason not to have cues in each type.

#8887 Reply
    More Advice
    Participant

@erock – Never, ever…and I mean never sign an exclusive contract unless you will be given some kind of compensation or guarantees of placements. Almost all of my music is in the NE arena and I am making good money in that arena.