Feedback gratefully received

Home Forums Critiques Feedback gratefully received

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    DavidM
    Participant

Hello!
    I thought it was about time I started to get some helpful critiques on my work, so would be really grateful for tips on any aspect of production, suitability of music for say Drama/Film, and whether there is a market for it, as I’m pretty new to this and trying to work out where (i.e which libraries) my work would fit in, or indeed, what market to write to.
    Many thanks!
    Dave

#33658 Reply
    cyberk91
    Participant

DavidM…I really like it especially around the 47 sec mark very nice… ….but…. then it fizzles out….I would be inclined to start the track at 47 sec…then go back and use the beginning and end as another track ….I find I do the same thing so I have to catch myself and stop it…lol …..it has to keep building and building…which I am still trying to master…your track sounds like more than one song to me ……here’s a nugget I got from a ninja warrior in the biz…sharing time… that I live by and constantly have to monitor constantly when I’m writing I hope it helps …and remember this is just my opinion…the mix is very good also.

• PROLOGUE – So always come out of the gates with exposing clearly where the track is going to end up. Imagine a library album for action music that all starts with brooding drones, well this will just sound like a brooding drone library and the editor will move on until she or he can here some action music.

• INTRO – We love doing these why? Because they’re EASY. Don’t indulge these, your editor isn’t here for that. Keep it short!
    • SUBJECT 1 – Imagine introducing a character a motif or theme and build it to…
    • SUBJECT 2 – Break down the first subject and develop the theme.
    • SUBJECT 3 – Return to subject 1 but in a fuller more developed sense or modulated even.