For Love of Music…

Home Forums General Questions For Love of Music…

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    johnnyboy
    Participant

Wondering… it seems the priority of members on MLR, are more concerned with making money than composing. How many of you would be composing if the money train came to an end? I think of all the poor great composers, that loved their art. It was their life. The music to them was the reward. Maybe change the name of this website to “Music Money Report”. Any music lovers out there?

#35175 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Wondering… it seems the priority of members on MLR, are more concerned with making money than composing.

That’s a bad thing? There is idealism and common sense. To make the leap that if you are interested in making money with your music you are not a lover of creating music is ridiculous. I have been writing music for over 50 years and much of it has never made any money. Making money, or not, would never stop me from making music.

#35178 Reply
    johnnyboy
    Participant

Not ridiculous Art. I see the question angers you. You and I are from another generation. Many younger music creators are more focused on making money. No, making money isn’t a bad thing, but if that’s the top priority, it will definitely affect the music. It becomes merely a product and not art, Art.

#35179 Reply
    mikevan
    Participant