Grateful for Any Feedback

Home Forums Critiques Grateful for Any Feedback

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    MattColligan
    Participant

Hello Everyone,

My name is Matt and I’m new to the MusicLibraryReport and licensing communities. Currently, I am submitting to libraries that use singer/songwriter, folk/rock, and pop/rock songs with vocals. Although I haven’t been pitching for very long (approximately two months), I haven’t had much success. Most of the time, I don’t receive any response but can sometimes see via SoundCloud that song(s) were played by certain libraries. The one response that I did receive specified that the songs don’t fit the needs of the company at the moment and that I should continue to submit to the company in the future. I’d really value your thoughts and opinions about my catalog if you have the time to listen. I’m also happy to listen to the music of any composer in this forum, but my perspective may not be as informed as the seasoned composers with placements. You can access the playlist that I’m mainly pitching at:

https://soundcloud.com/matt-colligan/sets/matt-colligan.

Thank you all and I hope everyone is safe!

Matt

#35028 Reply
    Paul Biondi

Hey Matt – just took a listen. Good stuff. and I’m guessing you know that your songs, performance and production are on the level they need to be at.

You mentioned you’ve been submitting for about two months which as you suspect, isn’t that long. Some libraries respond in weeks while others take many months before following-up on new submissions. I once had a library follow-up almost a year later after they had almost cleared their production schedule for that year.

If I could suggest two things: first, have no-vocal versions of your songs too. And second, submit to libraries with an eye towards their specialty (commercials, movies, scripted TV shows, etc).

Hope that helps.

#35029 Reply
    MattColligan
    Participant

Hi Paul,