Hesitant signing first exclusive deal with Library

Home Forums Newbie Questions Hesitant signing first exclusive deal with Library

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    JD
    Participant

Hi Folks,  I am new to this great site and would appreciate any thoughts from more experienced writers if possible. I have had songs signed previously to non-exclusive libraries and had some TV placements for them. I have recently been offered my first exclusive deal on a couple of ( previously unsigned) instrumentals. This would mean assigning copyright in perpetuity with a 5 year reversion with no advance (not quite sure how that works if assigned in perpetuity). If un-synched after 5 years, deal would change to non-exclusive. I can accept this on one of the songs which was quite quick to put together but somehow feel differently about the other song as it took much longer to craft. I am not able to write full-time yet so am not as productive as I would like to be so am finding it hard to `let go` of this song in perpetuity but would happily sign non-exclusively. I know as I am writing this how irrational this sounds as that is how this business works and I should just write more great songs and move on, it could generate good money and then I probably would be cool about it but I do feel the difference between this and other pieces which I am more able to churn out quickly. Maybe I should just save it for non-exclusives if I feel that way? Has anyone come up against this kind of `attachment` issue and how did you deal with it? I feel a bit silly even writing this but there may be others who have gone through similar. many thanks. Pepeluis

#8039 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Welcome to the site Pepe.

In perpetuity, in this case, most likely means that any show, film etc they place the song with will remain in perpetuity with that placement. That’s pretty typical.