How do you keep yourself motivated?

Home Forums General Questions How do you keep yourself motivated?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    naudio
    Participant

Let’s talk about to motivation. I couldn’t find any existing thread on this so I started a new one.

I think I’m not the only one here fighting with motivation/inspiration issues every now and then. Right now I am in a situation that I’ve dreamed of. I am earning my living by composing music, mostly RF but also doing music for video games (My living expenses are quite low and I don’t have any children, but still.)

Still, some days I just feel really uninspired and I feel like my music is sh*t and I don’t feel like composing. I wake up, start up my computer but can’t get myself started. However, I know that if I don’t keep composing more music and improving myself as a musician, I might be out of the game anytime. I’m also aware that my skills are light years away from some of the composers on this forum. I’m still fairly new to this game.

In a nutshell: I know I should be sweating and grinding but sometimes I can’t get in the “mood.” Still I know that writing music is my “thing” and what I want to try to build career as a composer/audio guy if possible. However, today I don’t even feel like listening to music. 😀

So, what keeps you inspired? What gets you motivated? Watching video tutorials? Learning new mixing techniques etc? Do you set yourself goals etc?

Share you tips! 🙂

#28708 Reply
    MaxPower
    Participant

Up until a couple of years ago I had an actual job working for ‘the man’. I use that as motivation as the thought of alarm clocks and working outside in the cold and having a boss again makes me shudder.
    I still procrastinate too much though – I imagine it’s one of the pitfalls of being a one person operation. Maybe a boss would actually be a good idea every now and again!