How much $$$?

Home Forums General Questions How much $$$?

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    daveydad
    Participant

I realize not everyone will want to disclose this, but I’m curious how much you guys make from music per year? Last year I made about $5650 but I’m on a roll this year and on track to make over $10,000. That includes everything: backend, streaming, RF downloads, oddball custom composing jobs, etc etc. Yeah, not enough to live off of… but I don’t need to.

#32486 Reply
    MM_Musicworks
    Participant

I am a newbie to the scene… Started making tracks and uploading to RF sites in May 2018… Finished June 2019 with about 90 tracks…

Made around $2000 till 30th June 2019…

Haven’t yet established relationships with backend generating libraries… Hoping to do that starting this 2nd year of my music library foray!

I am grateful for MLR… So much wisdom and perspective… Invaluable to a noob like me.

Cheers! 🙂

#32489 Reply
    daveydad
    Participant

That’s not bad!! I don’t do much sales anymore with RF libraries except Pond5. Not sure why….

#32494 Reply
    MM_Musicworks
    Participant

Yes… P5 is my principle earner as well…

#32511 Reply
    Mark_Petrie
    Participant

I won’t mention what I make today, but here’s a rough estimate (give or take 20%) of what I made from library music in my first years doing it full time (sales, licensing, royalties, upfront fees):
    1) $400
    2) $1200
    3) $35,000
    4) $55,000
    5) $80,000
    6) $100,000

I’ve been lucky – no doubt – but I think this trajectory is pretty typical if you’re able to do this full time, and are always looking to improve both the client friendliness of your music (TV, advertising), and the quality of the libraries you work with. My break in that third year was working as a contributing writer for reality TV composers, who would hire me to write dozens of tracks.

#32512 Reply
    Dannyc
    Participant