Implied Contract

Home Forums Contracts Implied Contract

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Michael

This isn’t a specific contract question itself and it is a bit nebulous but it is concerning enough for me to want to get it right.

So,if at some point in the past I asked a music library to handle (ALL) of my publishing and of course I meant all of the material I had sent them.

I then created competly new and original tracks for publisher B.

Could publisher A lay claim to these tracks on the grounds that I had said I wanted them to handle (ALL) of my publishing,

Just a bit worried.

I don’t want to make a mistake.

Michael.

#23886 Reply
    Vlad

Hi Michael,

I will preface this with: I am not a lawyer and this is NOT legal advise.

My opinion, however, is that your contract with Publisher A would state such a thing in it. Read the contract. If you have doubt, there is nothing like actually contacting them and asking the question so you have no doubt. I would say, that it would be uncommon and strange to have the ‘all media you generate in life will be represented by us’ clause in any contract….and you would hopefully never have signed such a contract in the first place….

#23887 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

Hi Michael,

Please check with you own attorney. However, an implied or quasi-contract contract is a “fictional” or constructive contract, usually imposed by courts to avoid injustice or unjust enrichment.

For example, if based upon your promise the library went out and spent a lot of money to promote you, bought new equipment to store your tracks, hired additional staff and you reaped some benefit from these efforts. If you did not uphold your promise you would be unjustly enriched.The remedy could be to form a contract based on your promise, or for your to pay the library for the value of its efforts on your behalf.