Home Forums Jason – Composer Interview

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

1.) Your name?

Publication name on MLR: Jason

2.) Any credits you care to mention?

I’ve been producing electronic music as an artist for approximately 10 years and have worked with famous record labels in the scene, made remixes for well-known DJs and do a lot of ghost writing works for other artists. For Film & TV I have not been into the game for too long, but until now I have around 200 tracks signed to several libraries, so some good credits should come up soon.

3.) How long have you been writing music?

I started to produce electronic music in the late 90’s/early 2000’s as a young teenager, playing around with the first music production software programs like music maker. So that’s something between 10-15 years.

4.) How did you get started?

I’ve always loved and played music since I was a child. Started playing drums very early and always wanted to create my own music, which was finally possible when I got my first computer.

5.) How long have you been writing library/production music?

I started 2 years ago, when I decided to follow a safer route (compared to the electronic DJ/producer scene). Since then I’m making music for a living and I love my life more than ever before. I still do a lot of electronic music and I love how I can decide from day to day which kind of music I want to make, sometimes concentrating more on the electronic artist thing, sometimes I focus on the library stuff. It’s all fun!

6.) Are you making a living wage writing library/production music?

At the moment it’s about 50% from libraries and 50% from my DJ/edm stuff.

7.) Do you care to give any general figures of annual earnings (low/mid/high 5, 6, 7 figures)?

Low to mid 5 figures.

8.) Are you self-taught or have you studied formally?

All self-taught, but had friends doing similar stuff and we helped each other a lot.

9.)Do you work through music libraries?

Yes.