Mastering for Music Libraries

Home Forums Newbie Questions Mastering for Music Libraries

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    TerlinguaMusic
    Participant

First of all, thanks for all the great info here- I’ve been lurking and reading/studying. This site and its members is an amazing resource for climbing the learning curve. I’ve got 40+ years experience in the music biz, but the library biz is a separate and unique terrain.

I’ve put together a small library- 35 tunes- in the last month and am starting the process of contacting libraries, submitting tracks, etc.

Here are my questions:

1. Some sites, notably AS, but it seems to be ubiquitous, appear to remaster the tracks- they sound thin and “hot” with aural exciter sizzle. Do you master your tracks to emulate that sound or is that done by the library?

2. Received wisdom is to make tracks as loud as they can be. For some acoustic tracks, that kinda kills the buzz. Have you noticed any correlation between apparent loudness (and decreased dynamic range) and sales?

3. A couple of the libraries I’m submitting to are asking for 16/44.1 waves. Is this the industry standard? Is there an industry standard? (I was expecting 48 for video).

Thanks!

#25551 Reply
    Edouardo
    Participant

For point number 2 (loudness): I come originally from the electronica world . When I started looking into the library bizz, 3 years ago, I submitted a dozen completed electronic tracks I had already completed. these were as loud as I could make them (it fits the style). Got a few sales, but nothing compared to what I get today. Now, I am very careful about loudness. Yes it kills the buzz when you are not doing techno, but more importantly, too loud a track, less space for the customer :