Mixing my own music. Should it be left to the pros?

Home Forums Commentary Mixing my own music. Should it be left to the pros?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    prizzi
    Participant

I have always thought composing professional sounding music is comprised of two parts. Creating and Composing the actual music itself and sound engineering the music.

My questions is since I am mostly a composer and not a sound engineer, should I pay someone to mix and master my music at least in until I get my music into a library? It seems cost prohibitive to do so since there is no guarantee of getting a placement. Also the libraries I have submitted to don’t give any feedback as to why my music wasn’t accepted (It obviously could be a variety of reasons.)

I have been learning how to mix my music for a few years now but I don’t want to hold myself back while waiting to become as good a mixing engineer as a composer. It seems to me that a lot of people write and mix their own music for a reason.

#39296 Reply
    Tunesmith
    Participant

One thing you could do is go the the libraries you want to have your music in and review the tracks they have signed. Compare them to your mixes. Also make sure that the style of your music would fit into what they sign.

I believe there is a peer section on the forum for input as well.

And for further educating, I recommend groove3.com Fantastic tutorials on all aspects of recording/writing/production etc..

Good luck and Happy New Year!
    TS

#39297 Reply
    prizzi
    Participant

Thank you so much I will check out that link. My thinking was to just improve my skills with all aspects of the process.

I didn’t know if some chose to have their music professionally mixed for sake of getting accepted into a library at least initially. Thank you again!

#39300 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster