Naming instrument songs by project dates

Home Forums Copyright Questions Naming instrument songs by project dates

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Franklin

I have been recording and writing music for over 20 years.I would descibe myself as a “compulsive songwriter” I have 300-500 instrumental songs I want to license.Because I compose primarily instrumentals, my naming of my compositions has always been to use the date. I am relatively new to music licensing ,and recently I have come across music license companies who require
    songs to be registered with a PRO. If I copyright and register a song with a name for example “9-16-13”,and I name the song for sale on a site as a different more decriptive name such as “Dramatic Action Thriller Sequence” is this going to be a problem?
    My plan was to get the songs copyrighted and registered first and then decide on names later. I want to use names specific to where and whom I am pitching them.Also want to offer as various packages.It would be easier to keep track of on my end. Now I am afraid when a search is done by a music licensing company to preclear the track they won’t find A registration under the new title.
    Am I making this too complicated or is this a legitimate concern?
    Also I usually make at least 4-10 edits of every song.Would I copyright and register all of them?
    Originally when I first started submitting songs, registration was not asked for in advance.I am holding off on copyrighting anymore songs until I have a better understanding.
    I am sorry this turned into a novel.I meant it to be a quick question,but the more I started explaining my situation,the more questions that came to mind. Thanks in advance for your time. Sincerely, Franklin

#12423 Reply
    Desire_Inspires
    Participant

Am I making this too complicated or is this a legitimate concern?

You are making this too complicated.

#12426 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster