Never Stop Learning

Home Forums Share It! Never Stop Learning

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Alan
    Participant

I have wanted to share this about myself for a while but was worried I would come across as bragging or arrogant. Please know that is not my intent. My intent is to share what helped me grow as a musician and composer. It may encourage some of you to try it if so inclined.
    I am a trombone and piano player. A little over 5 years ago a friend gave me a decent quality classical guitar and I was quickly captivated by the sound of the instrument. I then made one of the best musical decisions of my life. At age 47 I began taking classical guitar lessons, with a professional teacher, once a week, from square one. I thought my self-taught guitar skills from my garage band days would be an advantage, but the exact opposite was true. The first year was spent un-learning bad habits, ha!
    I pursued my studies with the same effort and devotion that I put into my production music writing. I practiced from 1 to 4 hours per day. I overdid it a few times and developed some tendon issues. There were many times I wanted to quit throw it in the fireplace, but I kept going for 5 years. A month ago my teacher and I agreed I really didn’t need him anymore. Wow! I just began monthly electric guitar lessons.