[Newbee Question] Adapt an old boogie classic as theme song

Home Forums Copyright Questions [Newbee Question] Adapt an old boogie classic as theme song

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Michael

Hello there,

I have no experience with song licensing, so I wonder if someone could point me in the right direction.

I’d like to let a musician adapt the song “Swanee River Boogie” by Albert Ammons and use it as main score for a video game. (Similar approach as with the Tetris song which was originally a Russian folk song from around 1900.) Afaik Ammons recorded the song in 1936 for Decca Records (Wikipedia) According to other sources, Ammons wrote the song in July 1946 (BlueBlackJazz), I find little background info with Google.

My adaption imaginations are roughly:
    1) Variations in instruments, speed (like a “silent version” or a “speed version”)
    2) Writing a text

My questions:
    1) Is this in general “legal” to adapt such an old song without any licensing?
    2) Who/where would I have to contact/do research in case the license situation is unclear? Is there something like a central agency for licensing questions for old songs or do I have to contact the label the song was originally released from since Ammons deceased a long time ago?

Sorry if my question sounds stupid but I really have 0 experience in this matter.

Thanks,
    Michael

#35095 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

I did a quick search and it appears it may be in the public domain which means you don’t need to license it. If so you could copyright your arrangement of it. I’m not a lawyer so this is not meant to be legal advice.

#35096 Reply
    Michael Nickolas
    Participant

Hi Michael. It is only legal to adapt the song if it were in the public domain. Based on the dates you posted it wouldn’t be. You need to contact the publisher to get a license (or maybe the Harry Fox Agency https://secure.harryfox.com/songfile/faq.jsp#faq3)