Newbie here and pseudonyms

Home Forums General Questions Newbie here and pseudonyms

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    angopop
    Participant

Hello, I just joined up last week, and I’ve been poking around.

I’ve had some experience with music libraries, having had some cable placements for old songs of mine thru Pump, but I feel I’ve improved and want to start placing new music, and submitting to other libraries.

From looking around at some threads, I have some preliminary questions for those of you with experience and knowledge.

1. A couple threads talked about the advantages of using pseudonyms for one’s different styles of music as well as in different libraries — would you recommend doing this from the outset, or wait a while?  Right now I’ve got about 25 pieces of music I will try to get placed in libraries, most are guitar rock/pop instrumentals, some offbeat latin/jazzy/other instrumentals, and a handful of songs with vocals.

2. When you use pseudonyms, what do you do as far as BMI and copyright?  For instance if I wanted to name myself Joe M for pop songs and Bob Z for metal, would I need to register copyright and BMI under each different pseudonym (I know both organizations allow me to register using my name and use the other name) or are the pseudonyms only used when I get to dealing with the music libraries?

Here is one of the threads I’m referring to:

changing identity…

Thanks,
    Arthur

#7145 Reply
    angopop
    Participant

Anybody?

#7146 Reply
    axiomdreams
    Participant

When you register your works, under composer name you can use your actual name. Under performer name however, you can use your pseudonyms & they will all be linked to your actual name which is your composer name so when PRO royalties are collected, they go to the composer (you) regardless of which pseudonym was used.

-AxD

#7147 Reply
    axiomdreams
    Participant