Newbie: PRO registration of library music

Home Forums Copyright Questions Newbie: PRO registration of library music

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Wibben

Hello! I’m very new to all of this and am looking at getting into library writing (obviously :P) I’ve been reading through tonnes of threads on here and it has really been great with all the information you all share!

I’m still, however, confused about the workings of PRO’s and libraries.
    Do I have to/should I register the music with a PRO, even if the music is on a library like Tunefruit? As I understand it, libraries like this don’t sell for broadcast, so a PRO wouldn’t hunt down royalties, right?

My PRO here in Sweden – STIM – has a way of marking tracks that are for Production music, that is to add a -LIB to the end of the track, would that mean that the track will never pull royalties, even if the track somehow ends up in a TV or Radio program?

I’ve searched around here a lot for more info on this specifically, but seeing as I’m so new to all of this I think I’m missing out on information because so many discussions here are a bit over my head, for the time being 🙂

Any swedish writers on here who have experience with Production/Library music and STIM? I would love to hear some thoughts or helpful advice: Should you/should you not join STIM, does it serve a purpose when working on lib music?

Sorry if I’m rambling 🙂

Cheers!

#16939 Reply
    Tbone
    Participant

Based on my PRS experience:

Yes, register your tracks. No, the LIB extension will not mark it as not pulling royalties – it just marks it as production music. Most production music in the UK is for TV at the top end anyway. Again based on my experience I wouldn’t worry about it, just register the tracks.