No Sync Fees?

Home Forums Commentary No Sync Fees?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Trackmaster

I’ve been composing for a short amount of time (less than 5 yrs) and I just started working with a production company on an EDM album.

The company gives a small payment upfront when the tracks are completed, and I would receive 100% of my writers share but no sync fees.

I don’t think these tracks would be for reality TV, as this library seems pretty high-class in terms of placements (McDonalds, Nike, Apple, etc).

I think I would have to spend 4-5 hours on each track.

This is my first project like this, and the 2nd time I’m ever getting paid upfront for any tracks in music licensing.

What do you guys think? Fair deal? Would you make this deal?

All input is appreciated.

#20189 Reply
    Desire_Inspires
    Participant

It’s hard to say.

I guess that the question for you is “do you want to earn sync fees?”.

If so, you may have to pass on the deal. If you can live with only getting the upfront fee and the writers royalties, it may be a nice deal.

You also have to factor in the time it takes to make each track. Sometimes the work that you put in demands more money upfront and demands sync fees for usages.

It does take a lot of work to create a full album.

#20201 Reply
    Paolo
    Participant

Hey Trackmaster,

Would you make this deal?….All input is appreciated

I’ll share my input and take on this – since you’ve asked 🙂

I decide based on numbers and also gut feeling. Money-wise, will the upfront money plus (estimated) backend mean your composing fee continues to increase over these five years? Would it leave you feeling fairly compensated?

And the intangibles: does it feel right? will this bring you further ahead and into the direction you want to pursue?

Paul

#20202 Reply
    OverDub
    Participant