Overseas royalties and PRS UK

Home Forums PROs Overseas royalties and PRS UK

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    EllHarp
    Participant

Hello
    I was wondering if anyone here from the UK has had long delays or even non-payments from overseas performances of tracks registered with PRS?

I can view performances of many of my tracks around the world on Tunesat and, cross referencing the dates with PRS overseas payment schedules, should have been paid to me ages ago. But they have never appeared on any statements from the PRS – only list performances from the UK. PRS haven’t responded to 3 attempts to contact them about this.

Is this a common issue and should I just be patient, or should I be concerned that my tracks have been performed undetected?

Any advice greatly received!

Thanks so much
    Ell

#38360 Reply
    Orca
    Participant

Hi Ell,

I’m a UK composer based in Devon and have been making library music for about 6 years.

I am a PRS member and have had no end of problems getting TV royalty payments from the PRS. I’ve found many of my tracks on tunesat used on TV programs, mostly in the US and chased the PRS but they have been uninterested and it’s been hard to get the back end payments through them.

In the end I decided to join BMI for the USA and Canada while remaining with the PRS for the rest of the world which they will allow if you write to them. It’s worked pretty well so far and I’m glad I made the switch. What sort placements are you finding and in which countries?

Thanks

Orca

#38364 Reply
    Tbone
    Participant

Hi Orca,

That is very interesting to hear about joining BMI for the USA and Canada only. So in the US do publishers have accounts at both BMI and ASCAP and then just register the tracks at the one the corresponding composer is also at?

#38367 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster