Pointless Revisions?

Home Forums Newbie Questions Pointless Revisions?

• This topic has 17 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 11 months ago by Pat.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    xev
    Participant

Hi everyone,

This is my first thread on MLR although I have been lurking for a few months and learning a lot about how the business works. Very thankful for all the people taking the time to help the newbies out πŸ™‚

On to my question:
    I have been working with a Library for the last 6 months, it’s going ok I guess, they usually like the tracks I am submitting for their albums, but very often they ask for revisions because the synths sound “outdated”. I change the sounds and resend them and the tracks get approved.

I know synth sounds are not my forte but as almost everytime I submit there are some tracks that need the synths being changed, I am working on getting more modern sounds. Especially I have been paying a lot of attention to the synth sounds in the tracks they send me for reference, to the point that for the last brief I pretty much copied the sounds from the reference to a T. I honestly don’t know if it is possible to get a sound that is any closer to the reference.

As usual my contact came back to me requesting to change the synth sounds because they sound outdated. I don’t mind changing anything they ask me for, but I am starting to feel like they are asking to change them just because they can, and I suspect that I could probably resend the same files and they would be ok with the sounds.

By the way the reference tracks for this last brief sound just like they came straight of the 80s, from a John Carpenter movie or something. So this is quite confusing.

I wanted to ask for peoples opinions here before saying anything to my library contact that would make him unhappy.

Has this ever happened to you? If so how do you deal with it?

Any advice would be appreciated.
    Cheers πŸ™‚

#31942 Reply
    Art Munson