Quality of Production Music Today

Home Forums Commentary Quality of Production Music Today

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    GaryW
    Participant

This is an interesting article about what music supervisors think about the quality and state of production music today. Would like to know your comments on it. GW

http://www.televisual.com/news-detail/Too-much-poor-production-music-out-there-say-producers_nid-2934.html

#10592 Reply
    Desire_Inspires
    Participant

I would probably have never made a dime from the old regime. Although my music is good, it is not suited for bespoke purposes. I have good ideas but I would need to collaborate with more talented players to bring out the best in my compositions.

My music would never pass the test to become a part of most of the bigger exclusive music libraries (believe me, I have tried multiple times!) I am a self-trained composer. I am very fortunate that I have music licensed in TV shows.

#10679 Reply
    Mr.composer

So errr, not alot of love for royalty free music then. There’s a surprise. Several of those comments were by UK people and I can tell you that you won’t find any RF music used on decent ads or higher paying channels over here.

One day you lot might wake up and smell the coffee! 🙂

#10680 Reply
    Mr.composer

Btw I was referring to the link in the article.

#10681 Reply
    Tbone
    Participant

But isn’t ANW effectively RF anyway Mr.composer?

#10683 Reply
    mr.composer

Well, I wouldn’t compare ANW (great composers with wonderful music recorded with live orchestras at Abbey Road) with yer typical RF music site tbh matey. You’d agree with that yeah? Have you heard the crap on some of these RF sites? I mean, general midi is still going strong apparently.

In terms of marketing, strategy, quality etc ANW is a unique beast and I don’t think ANW composers would wanna be lumped into the RF category. It’s like comparing cheese to the Brazilian national football team.