Question about "Epic" Album budgets

Home Forums General Questions Question about "Epic" Album budgets

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    abellboy
    Participant

I’ve been looking on line at some of my “Heros”: BrandX, Two Steps From Hell, Immediate Music… all the usual suspects, and there is something I just can’t figure out.

On one hand, I see these guys in front of massive orchestras and choirs, big mixers, huge studios, all of the mega bucks trappings of big-time production. On the other hand, I hear that budgets and licensing fees are dwindling…

So my question is, Is there a way they are “doing it on the cheap” (ie, sharing time, bulk purchases of time) or are they getting 50-100k per placement?

I admit I am new to this, and have a lot to learn, but I can’t see supporting the sessions, staff, office space, etc that they do when it costs soo much to produce the product.

Any insight the group can provide would be greatly appreciated

#19120 Reply
    Desire_Inspires
    Participant

They have connections to the right people.

#19121 Reply
    Mark Lewis
    Participant

Is there a way they are “doing it on the cheap”

A composer friend of mine just did exactly what you are describing.
    He hooked up with a music library in France. They asked him to write in a certain style and to do all the orchestral arrangements as well.
    He did the arrangements and the library flew him and a producer to a country in Eastern Europe (I forget which one) where they have super-cheap orchestras and they got it all done in a couple of days for a great price.
    So far one of those tracks was placed in one movie for nowhere near the 50k-100k you mentioned above.
    I also have a few composers submitting tracks to ML that are obviously live orchestral performances. One guy seems to just crank them out.
    There’s got to be a way to do it for cheap. I’m just not sure what it is exactly.

#19122 Reply
    abellboy
    Participant