Reality check needed

Home Forums Critiques Reality check needed

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    arielblacksmith
    Participant

Hello everyone

Im just starting out and trying to break to some libraries, I have knocked the door on some but so far it hasnt been going that well , I was even rejected by pond5 (maybe its on their side because of some big libraries they are clearing for, but who knows) so its time for a good old reality check

Currently I have my Portfolio which I send some cues to bigger libraries in ehre.

and the rejected library music is on this playlist

https://soundcloud.com/ariel-juarez-3/sets/library-music

Thinking its time to step back from composing and fix my issues first, i know that music libraries are subjective but i want to be safe on my end, what do you hear? mix issues? good but unatractive to sell music? too much of the same?

Thanks for your input, this is a really great place! .

-Ariel

#23570 Reply
    Happy Ears

To me it’s the production quality, related to mixing and sequencing
    its sounds very “in the box” like it’s all coming from a synth or a computer.

Also is that a keytar in the 2nd cue? It sounds like a a guitar VI played on keys which could get you (and rightfully so) banned.

If you could improve your production shills about 25% you’d be in the game. it also seem busy musically too. Remember there might be dialog on top which you could look on as as the main melody which you support.

Get really good at mixing or co write with someone who is.

Best of luck!

#23571 Reply
    Happy Ears

That was after only listing to two cues. I checked out some of your others. Overall defiantly too busy for many TV spots and sonic production quality is suffering but no reason not to be able to fix that, actually the “no lead” versions of some of your cues I could see getting usage on unscripted TV shows if better mixing.

#23572 Reply
    Kubed
    Participant