Royalties from US show via PRS

Home Forums PROs Royalties from US show via PRS

Tagged: , , ,

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    JoshM
    Participant

I live in the US and am currently writing music on a TV show in the US that pays royalties. I’ve asked my composer friend in the UK to provide some tracks to the show and I just want to make sure of the best way to ensure he gets royalties, since he is a PRS member. So I had a few questions that I figured someone on here might be able to answer.

Is it as simple and making sure the cue sheet has his PRS info for his tracks?

Does he have to have a publishing company through PRS, or just be signed up as a writer?

Does he need to sign up to Soundmouse?

Is it better to set up a BMI account and not go through PRS?

Thanks for your help!

#39627 Reply
    Orca
    Participant

Hi Josh, I’m no expect on this but I’m a UK composer and PRS member. I’ve had plenty of placements on TV shows in the US and did receive most of the royalties via the PRS eventually. So I would think that as long as your friend’s PRS details are on the cue sheet correctly he should get paid after sometime.

However, I realized that I wasn’t always getting the correct amount of royalties via the PRS so I am now a BMI member for the USA and Canada but with the PRS for the rest of the world. Now I get my US royalties directly from BMI and it works much better for me

#39629 Reply
    JoshM
    Participant

Awesome! Thanks so much for your help. That’s what I was thinking but just wanted to get some other opinions.

Have you signed up for Soundmouse or anything like that?

#39630 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

I’m in Soundmouse and BMAT.

#39631 Reply
    JoshM
    Participant

Thanks Art! I’ve definitely been looking into Soundmouse. Are there any downsides or reasons not to put your music in there? Have you found it helpful?

#39632 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster