Tagging workflow?

Home Forums Newbie Questions Tagging workflow?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    camerhil
    Participant

Do you have a system for tagging your tracks with attractive metadata? I’m just starting out, and I have no idea which tags tend to work and which don’t. I’ve been studying other successful tracks to get a feel and then re-tooling the tags for my own music, but this is taking a long time.

I’m wondering if you store a list of tags so that you can go through this process quicker? Any other tips for tagging?

#28990 Reply
    Kaki
    Participant

I think building a master list in excel with each track and their meta data included would probably be a good idea, tedious to do, but then you can just copy and paste from it going forward. I don’t know which tags are the ones that work best to be honest and I’m not sure there would be a blue print anyway… I’m new to licensing too! Some libraries take you through their own tagging system, ticking boxes of tags that match your track. From everything I’ve heard, read & learned so far though it appears that having good meta data is crucial. But yes – very time consuming and all that typing, clicking pasting etc is the stuff of tendonitis! :-0 Good luck.

#28992 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

No need to reinvent the wheel.

Try this for keeping track of things:

Home

and/or Adi Gold’s tag generator:

The New Tags Generator WebApp

#28993 Reply
    Kaki
    Participant

Brilliant, TY Michael!

#28994 Reply
    Kaki
    Participant

There’s also a music management tool called Disco now available, they are popping up sponsoring a lot of industry events.

#28996 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Here are some links for you.

Tag Team Analysis

Tag your Music with Metadata for the Most Impact

Reaching out to Composers: Keywording your Music