The cost of releasing music

Home Forums General Questions The cost of releasing music

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    kandr21400
    Participant

There’s CD Baby, TuneCore, and Distrokid, just to name a few. CD Baby and TuneCore charge fees to release per track and per album. Distrokid charges a yearly fee of 20 dollars for unlimited releases. Wouldn’t Distrokid be the way to go if you’re planning on submitting multiple tracks per week to music libraries?

#27883 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Wouldn’t Distrokid be the way to go if you’re planning on submitting multiple tracks per week to music libraries?

I’m confused. Why would you need any service to submit tracks to a library?

#27884 Reply
    kandr21400
    Participant

I’m totally new to this…..I thought one would have to have information like UPC number, ISRC number, release date, etc. But based on what I’m starting to gather from your response, is, after someone composes a piece, whether it’s anywhere from 15 seconds to 3 minutes in length, you just submit it to the whichever libraries you researched, and chose?

#27885 Reply
    BEATSLINGER
    Participant

Good morning to all. Kandr21400, you are going to need to do a LOT of research, and studying to formulate a plan/strategy on how best to structure your business. The key word is “research”. I can’t speak for all, but trial and error/success is how a lot of us got to what ever position we are at, and each has a completely individual method/story. In other words.. “You’re gonna have to earn your stripes, and make your own relationships”. This forum has a WEALTH of knowledge, but it is all about taking the time to read, internet research, and see what will work best for you.

As well, Art Munson is very humble from what I am seeing; and so I will tell you. He has a E-book that is available that answers a TON of these questions.

Be well, and I wish you MUCHO success!!

#27887 Reply
    gigdude
    Participant