Venturing into sync – noddy starter question

Home Forums General Questions Venturing into sync – noddy starter question

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    hkm47
    Participant

Hi. I release tracks on Spotify and all the major DSPs. I’m wondering if any of these tracks would be suitable for music libraries, but can I submit tracks that I’ve registered with PROs and released through DSPs? Would it be better to write fresh tracks to submit to music libraries – and, if accepted, would the libraries register these tracks with the PROs themselves, or should I register them myself first? Apologies if this is a noddy question, but I’m totally new to this scene, so am trying to figure it all out. Many thanks in advance.

#42459 Reply
    MM_Musicworks
    Participant

Tracks that you”ve already released on streaming platforms can be submitted to non exclusive libraries… As long as you have full ownerahip of the recording and composition. (Different librraies have different policies on public domain compositions and covers… Better to ask each specific librry what their policy is)

Exclusive libraries need fresh travks and typically do PRO registration themselves.

All the best!

#42518 Reply
    5-pin DIN

@hkm47 I just started writing for sync and everything in MM_Musicworks’ reply is true. I came in figuring I could just submit tracks I already finished, but realized I’m not going to get far that way.

If you’re going into sync to make money, like enough to earn a living, submit music to exclusive libraries. Libraries always have specific kinds of tracks they’re looking for, and each library is different.