W-8BEN TIN and treaty article

Home Forums PROs W-8BEN TIN and treaty article

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    presetfreund
    Participant

Hi there,

I am new to all that PRO stuff so forgive me any stupid question. Being a composer from Germany I started to offer some of my tracks in production music libraries last year. For several reasons I joined BMI and not german PRO Gema.

My questions are about the W-8BEN form:

Part II, line 10: in last years form (Rev. february 2014) they only asked for the treatyĀ“s article but in this years form they also ask for the paragraph (Rev. january 2017). Do you know which article and paragraph to fill in or will filling in only the article number ok?

Part I, line 5 and 6: is it really necessary to obtain an ITIN or EIN to fill in (line 5) when you fill in your foreign TIN (line 6)?

Thanks!

#27601 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster
    #27603 Reply
    Ruiz
    Participant

Hi,
    I am a composer from The Netherlands and i came across the same issues.
    It took me a long time to figure out how to get a ITIN.
    It turns out that with ASCAP, they can work with the TIN of your home country.
    However you can easily aks for a EIN at the IRS through one phone call.
    It takes 10 minutes of your time and you have to tell them that you are a sole propietor( wich you are if you make music for a living).
    The hard part is not recieving royalty checks, because they are very expensive to cash in the Netherlands. But to apply for an American bankaccount is much harder..

#27604 Reply
    Andreas

Thank you so much!
    After having gone through all the posts Art provided and having read your reply, Ruiz, I think I will have a try and get me an EIN from IRS.

Yet, that picky issue regarding treaty article-and-paragraph in this yearĀ“s W-8BEN Part II, line 10. Would be great if anyone knew something to say on that issue, too.

#27605 Reply
    Ruiz
    Participant