What does "exclusive license" really mean?

Home Forums Newbie Questions What does "exclusive license" really mean?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Curry
    Participant

Hi There,
    I am a music producer who has released dance music on my own record label via Spotify, itunes, amazon, beatport, traxsource…etc. basically for regular listening pleasure. And I own 100% of my publishing on these tracks.

My question is. If I supply these same tracks to a music library service, for exclusive use in sync licensing, can it still be considered on exclusive terms with them?, since I’ve never distributed this music to any libraries in the past for placement in sync licensing…is the exclusive term still honored for sync licensing and placements, even though it’s available on Spotify, itunes, amazon music, and other Non-synce music library portals? any advice is much appreciated..Thanks in advance

#33492 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

is the exclusive term still honored for sync licensing and placements, even though it’s available on Spotify, itunes, amazon music, and other Non-synce music library portals? any advice is much appreciated..

It would depend on the library you were dealing with and their terms. I would think many exclusive libraries might want the right to distribute to streaming services. Once again, depends on the library.

#33493 Reply
    Curry
    Participant

hmmm. Why would a library want to distro to a streaming service like spotify? I thought they are only in the business to try and get you placements for sync licensing.

#33494 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

Why would a library want to distro to a streaming service like spotify? I thought they are only in the business to try and get you placements for sync licensing.

Some libraries want that right and do release to the streaming services.

#33495 Reply
    LAwriter
    Participant

^^^^

What art says is true.