What was/is your day job?

Home Forums General Questions What was/is your day job?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    The Dude

I thought this might be an interesting side topic.

I was an engineer with a medical supply company. Great pay, but soulless work. I started with a few tracks in a few small (and a couple large) non-exclusive libraries, then got lucky with some exclusives and made a few personal contacts, which gave me more work. Started doing this full-time a couple years ago. Everyone thought I was crazy to quit (though they all hate their jobs too), but I’m not bored at work, and I’m doing better for myself, though with multiple streams of income.

So what was/is your day job?

#14295 Reply
    Vlad
    Participant

Full time musician since I finished music school in 1996. Never had a day gig. Made/make a living as a guitar player, but in 2008 the gigs started to dry up and I started writing a ton. Fast forward to today and my living is split between guitar playing, RF Libraries, TV/Film Libraries, and Ninja Assassin Work.

#14297 Reply
    Jay

I’m a chef but working below my skill level (and pay level) as a prep cook so I have time and energy to make music…slowly but surely my music income is gaining on my cooking income..been cooking for almost 35 years..ran my first kitchen @ 20 and about 15 since then including my own cafe & catering business for about 10 years..exhausting business…nothing like you see on tv 🙂

#14298 Reply
    Chuck Mott