What’s the path from Library Composer to Theme Tune?

Home Forums General Questions What’s the path from Library Composer to Theme Tune?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Dave

Hello all

I’ve been writing Library Music for a few years (but still consider myself a relative newbie), and am getting regular placements on a variety of different shows through several different genres. My question is, what’s the path from Composer of Library Music to landing the Title Theme to a Show? I’ve no idea how it works. Do I ask libraries themselves, or are these Title themes generally commissioned directly by Supervisors and Producers? And if that’s the case, how do you get yourself in a position where you might be asked to submit something?

#41651 Reply
    DavidM
    Participant

Wow, nobody knows? That’s fine – as an industry, we are known for holding our cards close to our chests. I wasn’t after specifics. Just in general terms, I would be fascinated to learn whether indeed the Production Music route is a path at all to getting the opportunity to submit a potential Theme Tune to a show/series, or whether perhaps it’s about have a reputation as a Composer outside the realm of Library/Production/Sync Music, and being asked. I’m thinking here in the UK about people like Nigel Hess, Debbie Wiseman, Colin Towns who have done TV themes but compose in a much wider sphere too.

#41656 Reply
    Michael Nickolas
    Participant

“Wow, nobody knows? That’s fine – as an industry, we are known for holding our cards close to our chests.”

It seems you are saying two different things here. First is that nobody knows and second is that people do know but are unwilling to share.

My opinion is it’s the first – nobody knows. I’ll bet the three names you mentioned that have done TV themes each found their way there in different manners!

#41657 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster