which PRO to join in the US

Home Forums General Questions which PRO to join in the US

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    tsferro
    Participant

Greetings all!

I am new to the world of production/library music, and based on what I have been reading, it sounds like I need to sign up with a PRO. I haven’t submitted any music to libraries yet but plan on doing so by mid-to-late summer (in case this is important in terms of the time it takes to be licensed, etc).

I am US-based, so as far as I am aware, my options are one of these three: ASCAP, BMI or SESAC.

Is there any significant difference between these three entities/why are there three organizations that on some level perform the same tasks? Also, what sort of fees should I expect? Annual dues, etc?

Many thanks,

Tucker

#35353 Reply
    Bill Howard

Look up Tynia Coats youtube videos. Has some good info.

#35356 Reply
    Chuck Hughes

I am registered with ASCAP.

I have heard a couple times from ASCAP writers who said they co-wrote a music piece with a BMI writer, 50/50, and for the same use on tv the BMI writer was paid more money.

#35357 Reply
    johnnyboy
    Participant

Flip a coin between ASCAP & BMI. Unless you have a crystal ball Tucker.

#35396 Reply
    Leon Luis

As a Publisher and Library owner, I have to have membership in BMI, ASCAP and even though I am an American because I am based in the UK I also belong to PRS
    As a composer myself, I belong to BMI for US collection and I belong to PRS for collection in the rest of the world
    BMI pays way better than ASCAP and unlike ASCAP BMI is quite helpful and will go above and beyond for their members whilst ASCAP is just plain arrogant and rude ASCAP also have a proclivity for missing payments and
    So in my opinion based on numerous experience I would avoid ASCAP