Work-for-hire: Is it illegal ?

Home Forums General Questions Work-for-hire: Is it illegal ?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    SongLoft
    Participant

Hello all

I’m a composer and I’ve had this discussion before with entertainment attorneys who tell me the “work-for-hire” clauses I find in most of my contracts with Production Music companies are technically incorrect in their usage.

I believe it’s a copyright issue; work-for-hire, under copyright law, was only intended for a couple specific instance. However, music companies (and ad agencies) have used it in their contracts for as long as I can remember. I think the problem is that it lets companies accrue the rights to music without having to have composers as their “employees”

It’s become an abuse of the copyright law.

Does anyone know if this common practice is just out of legal ignorance OR is there something  specific to CA laws that allow it to exist ?

thanks for any info

#6908 Reply
    MichaelL
    Participant

No it is not illegal, but there are certain conditions that define a work for hire. I don’t have time to explain it.

Here’s a PDF  from the copyright office:

http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ09.pdf

Short answer:

It really depends on which production music companies you are talking about. Giving your music to Jingle Punks, or a similar library, for no money, even on an exclusive basis IS NOT a work for hire. Getting paid by Megatrax to produce a collection of cues, most likely is.

#6911 Reply
    SongLoft
    Participant

thanks Michael!

According to some “legal opinions” (unless I’m reading incorrectly here…) even if there was a payment made for producing a group of cues, musical works don’t seem to be covered under the nine categories of the U.S. Copyright Act.

Here’s a weblink for reference:

http://www.stopworkforhire.com/site2/legal-perspective/

It would seem work-for-hire only technically applies to a few specific instances right ?

thanks