Yet Another ReTitling Question

Home Forums General Questions Yet Another ReTitling Question

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    scottcampbellmusic
    Participant

Hi all,

As I may have mentioned before, I’m brand new to this biz, and this site, so if this has been covered somewhere, plz point me in the right direction! I only had the energy to get about halfway through the existing retitling threads

QUESTION: I hear a lot about LIBRARIES retitling, but, is it legal/a practice for the COMPOSER to retitle? The application would be to discourage price shopping between RF libs and a disconnect from other NON RF, NON-Exclusive libs as well as allow for a pseudonym for further separation

I’m talking strictly non-exclusive and RF(non exclusive). Exclusive libraries are exclusive, one track, one title, one library(who may choose to retitle, np), no questions.

Thanks for any pointers or experience(s).

#9236 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

While some might disagree with the practice, I’ve been doing it for years. Illegal? I doubt it but I’m not an attorney and you should consult one if you have doubts.

#9250 Reply
    Michael
    Participant

Following on from the scotcambellmusic question.

There have been several cases of plagiarism down the years ,one of the most famous involving George Harrison, but has anybody ever heard of a music library taking a composer to court?

#9251 Reply
    Art Munson
    Keymaster

@Michael. I think you are confused by the question. You can’t copyright a title so plagiarism doesn’t apply here. The George Harrison case was about “My Sweet Lord” being a lift of “He’s So Fine”. At least I think that’s what you are referring to and that’s a whole different issue.

#9252 Reply
    Michael
    Participant

Thanks Art,your quite right,I did get them mixed up.

#9253 Reply
    Desire Inspires

QUESTION: I hear a lot about LIBRARIES retitling, but, is it legal/a practice for the COMPOSER to retitle?